A new book: May 2020

May has been busy, busier than I had expected. In April I completed my Nanowrimo goal. I think my word count goal was like 10,000 or something. But this project wasn’t ever really about word count. Poetry is finicky like that. Essentially the goal was to write 30 poems in a month. I wrote 40 poems. I’d say that’s pretty good.

At the time of writing these poems, I didn’t really have any intention to do anything with it. It was just a project. And then I finished the project. A couple of days later, I realised that I had some poetry and short stories that I wrote a while ago that would actually fit with the new ones. And then from there, the poetry written in April had become a collection.

Just like that, this collection The Veil, was created. Within the time that I was working on that I have a short story published in a horror anthology, so I was working on helping get the word out on that. This anthology was actually set to publish last year, but it didn’t work out. So, finally this May it was published.

The Veil: A Poetry Collection by Kala Godin

Release day: October 31st, 2020

Synopsis:

In her second poetry collection, Kala Godin explores humanity, divinity, and the in-between places.

The monsters and gods are still here, they’re just beyond The Veil…

Inside includes illustrations done by Kala Godin. She drew these before losing the ability to draw, due to her disability.

Ebook available for preorder.

Paperback available upon release day.

Amazon

Universal Book Link

Goodreads

Not Just a Pretty Face: Women in Horror Volume 1 edited by Selene MacLeod

Enter the minds of these women in horror feel your way through the darkness and escape the terror if you can, but above all enjoy the fear. These women are not just a pretty face. Featuring, in order of appearance: Jo-Anne Russell, Caitlin Marceau, Joanna Parypinski, Joanna Koch, Abby Andresen, Valerie B. Williams, Morrison, Laura J. Hickman, Faith Dincolo, Kala Godin, Suzanne Madron, Hailey Piper, Sara C. Walker, Erin Shaw, Aubrey Campbell, Mei Kerr, RL Meza, Emma Johnson-Rivard, Naching T. Kassa, Hayley Wynne, Gemma Files and Alice Loweecey.

Amazon

Goodreads

March 2020 writing update

I’m really terrible at giving writing updates, wow. And considering this website is supposed to be an author website, I guess I should give you updates on author related things.
So in February I applied for Author Mentor Match which I have linked so you can see what it’s like if you want.
Long story short, I didn’t get in. But what it did allow me to do was have a deadline to finally finish my book, write the synopsis, and write a query letter. Pretty much everything that you need to submit to an agent.
In my opinion, it wasn’t a total bust. It makes you prepare for what the next process is going to be. And then it also gives you a taste of what the waiting is like. Agents don’t get a hold of you right away. In fact sometimes it’s four to six months that you could wait to hear back. Most of the time you don’t get a response at all if it’s a rejection. You look at each agents guidelines and see how long it could be that you could wait for a response. If it’s six months, and you waited seven or eight months, chances are that’s a rejection. And unless you actually have another agent wanting to give you representation, that’s the only time that you contact other agents back. Otherwise you can’t contact them and ask if they received your submission. Or what their answer is, because they are too busy.
It’s a pain in the butt, but understandable.
So what did I do? I adjusted my query letter to be able to submit to agents, and that’s what I’m doing right now. Submitting to six or seven agents at a time and well, waiting for feedback or rejections, or until it’s passed their response time.
Or you know, waiting for somebody asking to read more of my manuscript. That’s always a goal.
While that’s happening I actually have three other projects on the go. Which isn’t something I used to do. I didn’t like working on more than one project at a time. But if writer’s block hits, it’s more productive to start working on something else then not working on anything at all.
I can’t really tell you much about either project, I can tell you that one is a poetry collection. Another is an adult paranormal romance that is a crossover into horror. The final, the one with the least amount of work done to it, is a young adult book that will feature a physically disabled main character that should be in the vein of The Magicians or Ninth house. That one will be an #OwnVoices novel.
Other than that I also attended an online writers conference called WriteOnCon, it was amazing and well worth the money. And actually incredibly cheap. I ended up getting the more expensive ticket, it was like $30. Worth it in my opinion. You also have a really long time to access the videos and blogs.
That’s all I have in the way of an update. You should hear from me in a couple of weeks about another book review.

Have a good day!

Review

Review of Aphrodite Made Me Do It by Trista Mateer

I received an ARC copy on netgalley of this poetry collection, in exchange for my honest review.

“To sing of love is almost always to sing of war.”

I’ve followed Trista’s journey as a poet for a very long time. All the way back before her collection Honey Bee, when she was still only on Tumblr.

From there her poetry has grown, while never losing touch with who she is. And always having a consistent voice.

Now typically with poetry collections, I tend to skip a poem here and there. As they just don’t click with me. However with Trista’s poetry, I can find something to connect with in each poem. Whether it’s the whole poem, or simply just a phrase.

Her writing always manages to spark emotion. I will be giving this collection a 4.5 star.

“She says, “I thought you weren’t looking for love.”

I say, “That doesn’t mean I’m not hoping it will find me.”