March 2020 writing update

I’m really terrible at giving writing updates, wow. And considering this website is supposed to be an author website, I guess I should give you updates on author related things.
So in February I applied for Author Mentor Match which I have linked so you can see what it’s like if you want.
Long story short, I didn’t get in. But what it did allow me to do was have a deadline to finally finish my book, write the synopsis, and write a query letter. Pretty much everything that you need to submit to an agent.
In my opinion, it wasn’t a total bust. It makes you prepare for what the next process is going to be. And then it also gives you a taste of what the waiting is like. Agents don’t get a hold of you right away. In fact sometimes it’s four to six months that you could wait to hear back. Most of the time you don’t get a response at all if it’s a rejection. You look at each agents guidelines and see how long it could be that you could wait for a response. If it’s six months, and you waited seven or eight months, chances are that’s a rejection. And unless you actually have another agent wanting to give you representation, that’s the only time that you contact other agents back. Otherwise you can’t contact them and ask if they received your submission. Or what their answer is, because they are too busy.
It’s a pain in the butt, but understandable.
So what did I do? I adjusted my query letter to be able to submit to agents, and that’s what I’m doing right now. Submitting to six or seven agents at a time and well, waiting for feedback or rejections, or until it’s passed their response time.
Or you know, waiting for somebody asking to read more of my manuscript. That’s always a goal.
While that’s happening I actually have three other projects on the go. Which isn’t something I used to do. I didn’t like working on more than one project at a time. But if writer’s block hits, it’s more productive to start working on something else then not working on anything at all.
I can’t really tell you much about either project, I can tell you that one is a poetry collection. Another is an adult paranormal romance that is a crossover into horror. The final, the one with the least amount of work done to it, is a young adult book that will feature a physically disabled main character that should be in the vein of The Magicians or Ninth house. That one will be an #OwnVoices novel.
Other than that I also attended an online writers conference called WriteOnCon, it was amazing and well worth the money. And actually incredibly cheap. I ended up getting the more expensive ticket, it was like $30. Worth it in my opinion. You also have a really long time to access the videos and blogs.
That’s all I have in the way of an update. You should hear from me in a couple of weeks about another book review.

Have a good day!

Authortube Newbie tag (revamped)

So I decided to take the “Authortube Newbie Tag” and frankenstein it into a blog appropriate version. The tag was intially created by Jenna Streety. Here’s the link to her youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIgRD-9jYUocNNwCwITrKyw

Hopefully no one minds me taking this tag and doing it in a blog format. I will be changing the questions a bit to better suit my blog.

QUESTIONS:

How did you find out about AuthorTube? (Or author blogging?)

Well Authortube was more or less me frantically searching youtube for content about. I found booktube first, and then the Wordnerds. Now I have quite a list that I follow.

Author blogging I’ve known about for quite awhile. I used to do book blogging. Which you will see a bit of on here.

What genres do you write in?

Fantasy, paranormal, horror. And very widely within those genres. I also occasionally write poetry. However my poetry tends to revolve around those genres.

What is your preferred writing tense, point of view, and category of story? (Children’s, YA, NA, Adult, etc.)

Hmmm I like present tense, and 1st person POV. I prefer to write MG, YA, or NA.

Are you a plotter, pantser, or plantser?

Definitely a plantser. I need just a few plot points to keep myself on track. But not enough for me to feel bored.

Are you a self-published, published, or yet-to-be published?

Currently self published, but I would like to traditionally published at some point.

What publishing company, literary agent, and/or printing company are you represented by or use? If you’re not yet published, what is your dream publishing house and/or literary agent?

Right now I am self published but represented by Patchwork Press. And then through Amazon, and Draft2Digital. I don’t really want to say a specific company or agent that I would like to be represented by, because it would be a dream to be published by one of the big 5, or even one of their imprints. But whomever I would work with well, is who I would choose.

What kind of content can we expect to find on your website?

Updates on my reading and writing. The process of writing. And my life updates.

When did you start writing?

Seriously for publication? Right after high school. Actually maybe even during high school, I think I entered writing contests. But I’ve been writing for fun since I was little.

What was the first story you ever wrote?

I was maybe 12. It was a fantasy about  a kingdom that had been cut in half but a cursed tree. An angel boy was prince of one side, and a demon girl ruled the other.

What authors have inspired your writing the most?

Stephenie Meyer, the author of Twilight was who made me want to be an author. I have so many good memories associated with the Twilight series. Otherwise I like the writing style of V.E. Schwab. I find she captures my attention from line one, and I never get bored.

Do you schedule your writing sessions or simply get to writing whenever you can find the time?

I find that I am a habit based person. I work from 10am or 11am until 1pm or 2pm, This is usually work revolving around editing. And then from 1:30pm or 2pm until 5pm, I’m writing. After supper is TV time or reading.

Do you type on a computer, typewriter, write everything out by hand, or use a blend of those?

All first drafts are written by hand. This way I am not distracted by flipping over to social media. My word choice seems to be more specific when writing by hand, as well.

And where do you write in general?

The living room. Soon, maybe the deck.

What are you most looking forward to now that you’re a part of the writing community?

Building community. I like being part of a community that has a mutual interest.

Well that’s all for today! I hope to have more updates soon. If you have any questions about me or my writing, please leave them in the comments!