Review: Rules for Being a Girl by Candace Bushnell and Katie Cotugno

I received an ARC copy of this book from Harper Teen Canada in exchange for my honest opinion.

5/5 stars

This book was incredible! I was hoping to enjoy this book when I requested it but I know that I don’t typically like contemporary. Rules for Being a Girl was a really wonderful surprise. The premise is important and hard hitting; I never stopped rooting for the main character.

Feminism is really important in our society. It can be written really well, or sometimes it isn’t handled well at all. Sometimes it’s preachy, catty, or non-inclusive.

Do remember being a kid? One time someone fed you vegetables, and suddenly it tasted really good, and you realized that it was prepared right? That’s the best way I can explain this book. Feminism, prepared just right.

The writing was easy to read and flowed well. You couldn’t even tell that it was two different authors.

I would recommend this book to everyone.

March 2020 writing update

I’m really terrible at giving writing updates, wow. And considering this website is supposed to be an author website, I guess I should give you updates on author related things.
So in February I applied for Author Mentor Match which I have linked so you can see what it’s like if you want.
Long story short, I didn’t get in. But what it did allow me to do was have a deadline to finally finish my book, write the synopsis, and write a query letter. Pretty much everything that you need to submit to an agent.
In my opinion, it wasn’t a total bust. It makes you prepare for what the next process is going to be. And then it also gives you a taste of what the waiting is like. Agents don’t get a hold of you right away. In fact sometimes it’s four to six months that you could wait to hear back. Most of the time you don’t get a response at all if it’s a rejection. You look at each agents guidelines and see how long it could be that you could wait for a response. If it’s six months, and you waited seven or eight months, chances are that’s a rejection. And unless you actually have another agent wanting to give you representation, that’s the only time that you contact other agents back. Otherwise you can’t contact them and ask if they received your submission. Or what their answer is, because they are too busy.
It’s a pain in the butt, but understandable.
So what did I do? I adjusted my query letter to be able to submit to agents, and that’s what I’m doing right now. Submitting to six or seven agents at a time and well, waiting for feedback or rejections, or until it’s passed their response time.
Or you know, waiting for somebody asking to read more of my manuscript. That’s always a goal.
While that’s happening I actually have three other projects on the go. Which isn’t something I used to do. I didn’t like working on more than one project at a time. But if writer’s block hits, it’s more productive to start working on something else then not working on anything at all.
I can’t really tell you much about either project, I can tell you that one is a poetry collection. Another is an adult paranormal romance that is a crossover into horror. The final, the one with the least amount of work done to it, is a young adult book that will feature a physically disabled main character that should be in the vein of The Magicians or Ninth house. That one will be an #OwnVoices novel.
Other than that I also attended an online writers conference called WriteOnCon, it was amazing and well worth the money. And actually incredibly cheap. I ended up getting the more expensive ticket, it was like $30. Worth it in my opinion. You also have a really long time to access the videos and blogs.
That’s all I have in the way of an update. You should hear from me in a couple of weeks about another book review.

Have a good day!